wpe1B.jpg (29818 bytes)
wpe2F.jpg (8567 bytes)
Taiji Quan is the major training component in YCGF. Because of its high level principles
and detailed techniques, Taiji Quan can offer a lot of help for practitioners. To understand
Taiji Quan is the best way to understand traditional Chinese martial arts.
The style of Taiji Quan practiced in YCGF is Wu style. It started from one of Yang
Luchan's best student Quan You. When Yang Luchan taught Taiji Quan in
Shen Ji Ying
(the Emperor's security camp) in the mid-nineteenth century, he had three excellent
students, all of whom were Manchurian: Wan Chun, Ling Shan, and Quan You. The King
at the time, Su Wang (King Su), was also one of Master Yang's students and a classmate
of Wan Chun, Ling Shan, and Quan You. Because it was forbidden by Manchu custom for
commoners to become gongfu (kungfu) brothers to a King, Master Yang arranged for
Wan Chun, Ling Shan and Quan You to become disciples of his second son, Yang
Banhou. This meant that the three accomplished students could be viewed as members
of a lower generation than that of the King. Although Wan Chun, Ling Shan and Quan
You became nominal disciples of Yang Banhou, they nevertheless continued to study
directly with Master Yang Luchan.
Single Whip in Shanghai group
by Wu Jianquan
Of these three outstanding students, only Quan You passed his skills on to subsequent
generations and as a result, only he was responsible for the development of a new and
distinctive style. Because Quan You's family changed their family's Manchurian name to
the Chinese name of Wu (tone 2) after the Republican Revolution, the style that Quan You
developed became known as Wu style. In time, Quan You was recognized and respected
as the founder and first generation master of Wu style Taiji Quan.
wpe36.jpg (11685 bytes)
Quan You had many disciples in Beijing. The most famous were Wang Maozhai and Quan
You's son Ai Shen, who is more commonly known as Wu Jianquan. In 1928, Wu Jianquan
moved to Shanghai in southern China while Wang Maozhai remained in Beijing. These
two great Taiji Quan masters came to be known respectively as "Nan Wu Bei Wang"
("South Wu and North Wang"), and Wu style was differentiated into two main groups, one
in Beijing and one in Shanghai. Later Wu Jianquan's son, Wu Gongyi, organized a third
group in Hong Kong. Today, therefore, there are three distinct groups of Wu style
practitioners, and a lot of branches in all over the world.
Single Whip in Beijing group
by Wang Peisheng
wpe24.jpg (5984 bytes)
wpe3B.jpg (12348 bytes)
wpe39.jpg (11202 bytes)
Grandmaster Wang Maozhai                                  Grandmaster Wu Jianquan
After Wu Jianquan moved to Shanghai, Master Wang Maozhai continued to lead the Wu
style Beijing group and this group became the biggest Taiji Quan group of its time. Master
Wang Maozhai also founded the Beijing Tai Miao Taiji Quan Association and had
thousands of students, from the Mayor of Beijing to army generals and from business
people to martial arts experts. His high level of skill earned him a justifiably excellent
Push Hands - Quan Peng
Of Master Wang Maozhai's one hundred disciples, Yang Yuting was
the best. When he was only twenty years old, Yang Yuting started to
teach Taiji Quan, and during his more than seventy years of teaching,
he trained several thousand people. After Wang Maozhai passed
away, Yang Yuting became the leader of the Wu style Beijing group.
During his long time teaching, Yang Yuting found some aspects of
the old training way were not good for practitioners. So from 1930s
he started to reform Taiji Quan training. He was the first master who
recognized how important it is to make training more systematic.
Under Master Wang Maozhai's instruction, Yang Yuting reformed the
traditional long form. He standardized all movements in great detail.
This way makes it easier and more efficient for people to quickly
learn the form correctly. Today this method is applied in most martial
arts groups.
wpe3D.jpg (9400 bytes)
Yang Yuting
Today, Master Wang Peisheng, the President of the Beijing Wu Style Taiji Quan
Association, is the leader of the Wu style Beijing group. He is one of Master Yang Yuting's
first seven disciples. He also received many years of intensive training from his
Grandmaster Wang Maozhai. This combination of teachers brought his mastery to a level
even higher than that of his most accomplished classmates. Master Wang started to teach
at eighteen years of age. He found there are some defects in the old training way. So that
he started to reform some thing little by little. From his Wu Style Taiji Quan Thirty-seven
Posture Form which is the first short form in China, generally, he set up his own training
system called Yin Cheng Gong Fa. Master Wang Peisheng has now taught Taiji Quan for
more than sixty years and still works hard and travels far to bring his knowledge of the
martial arts and his great wisdom of traditional Chinese culture to people all over the
Push Hands - Dalu
wpe38.jpg (5985 bytes)
There is a complete Taiji Quan training curriculum in YCGF. The skills listed below are taught
Taiji Dao
Bare Hand Forms:
Thirty-seven Posture Form
Traditional Long Form (Eighty-three Posture Form)
Sixteen Posture Short Form
Essential Form
wpe3C.jpg (11579 bytes)
Push hands:
Basic Gongfu Training
Single hand Pushing
Sizheng (Four Basic Skills Double hand Pushing)
Dalu (Eight Basic Skills Pushing)
Free Style
Taiji Jian
wpe3A.jpg (9167 bytes)
Thirteen Posture Taiji Dao (Saber) Form
Thirty-two Posture Taiji Jian (straight double-edge sword) Form
Traditional Sixty-four Posture Taiji Jian Form
Taiji Zhan Gan (sticking staff)
Thirteen Posture Taiji Qiang (spear) Form
Twenty-four Posture Taiji Qiang Form
Taiji Sticking Staff
wpe3F.jpg (13233 bytes)
Taiji Spear
Yin Cheng Gong Fa Association North American Headquarters
Copyright © 2000 YCGF_NAH. All rights reserved.